Eight teams face off for 2013 NCAA Rifle Championships March 8-9 at Ohio State

Ohio State University hosts the 2013 NCAA Rifle Championships

Fairfax, Virginia - The NCAA Men’s and Women’s Rifle Committee has announced the eight teams who will compete for the 2013 National Collegiate Men’s and Women’s Rifle Championships early next month.

Held March 8-9 at Ohio State University, these eight teams were selected by combining the average of a team's three highest regular-season aggregate scores (no more than one match per site) with their aggregate from the designated NCAA qualifiers.

More on the 2013 NCAA Rifle Championships competitors ...

West Virginia holds steady as Kentucky leaps Texas Christian University for No. 2 spot

2012 NCAA Air Rifle Champion Petra Zublasing of the West Virginia Mountaineers

After shooting a NCAA-best team score and school record 4717 in its win over No. 10 Memphis last week, West Virginia University has retained their No. 1 ranking in the Collegiate Rifle Coaches Association poll for the third week. The Mountaineers are now 4-0 and have jumped out to be an early favorite for the 2013 title. But it is still very early in the season. Lots of things can happen between now and March.

More on the 2012-2013 season NCAA Rifle leaders ...

Olympics-bound shooter takes smallbore individual championship

TCU's Scherer is 2012 smallbore champion

Columbus, Ohio - Yesterday afternoon saw the top eight shooters from the smallbore relays step to the firing line for the 2012 individual smallbore finals.

Sarah Scherer and Michael Matthews found themselves tied at 589 going into the finals. The two were joined by Emily Holsopple, Petra Zublasing, Ryan Anderson, Kelly Buck, Henri Junghanel and Andrea Vautrin, all of whom were skilled marksmen and had a chances of winning. After the ten timed shots were taken though, only one stood at the top – Texas Christian University's Sarah Scherer.


Keep up to date with NRAblog

Powered by BlogEngine.NET Theme by Cylosoft © Copyright 2015 The National Rifle Association of America