By Lars Dalseide | August 2 2014 08:02

4 NRA Long Range Champs within two points of title as rain & Palma phase closes finals

3-time NRA Long Range Rifle champ John Whidden on the 3rd day of the 2014 finals

Port Clinton, Ohio - There’s a leaderboard logjam on final morning of NRA’s 2014 Long Range High Power Rifle Championship. The top two shooters are separated by a single X. The next three by a point. The next four by two. And that’s just one of the obstacles today’s leader, Phillip Crowe, is facing.

Today there’s a call for rain. Rain and the ensuing winds Camp Perry happily provides throughout the summer championships means Crowe’s starting point of 798-47x is tenuous at best. One little gust, one drop of rain, any change at all in the bullet’s path drops a 10 to 9 … if you’re lucky.

The other major obstacle is that today is the day for Palma. For after days of shooting round after round at 1,000 yards, Palma calls for relays at 800, 900, and 1,000 yards.

“You focus in on what it takes to hit the target at 1,000 yards,” said Match Director Sherri Judd. “Making that switch on the final day really throws some shooters for a loop.”

A change in environment and a change in distance means there's a change in the weight of every shot. And while there’s every chance that Mr. Crowe will hold firm to the lead, there’s also every chance that one of the men and women breathing down his neck will pass him before the final bell.

Take a look at his pursuers.

Ladies taking aim and sights at the 2014 National Long Range High Power Rifle Championships

NRA Long Range High Power Rifle
Overall Aggregate

Place Name Score
1 Phillip Crowe 798-47x
2 Nancy Tompkins 798-46x
3 Brandon Green 797-45x
4 David Tubb 797-39x
5 Waylon Burbach 797-39x
6 Michelle Gallagher 796-47x
7 Shane Barnhart 796-46x
8 John Whidden 796-45x
9 Thomas Colyer 796-40x
10 Stacey Tamulinas 794-39x

Wimbeldon Cup winner makes push for the 2014 NRA title

For more on NRA's Competitive Shooting Programs, visit their website at


Comments are closed

Powered by BlogEngine.NET Theme by Cylosoft © Copyright 2015 The National Rifle Association of America