By Kyle Jillson | July 25 2014 19:20

Shooters break into teams for two days of joint competition on Lake Erie's shore

2014 NRA Enlisted Men's Trophy Team Match at Camp Perry

Port Clinton, Ohio - Before the High Power Championship officially starts at this year's NRA National Rifle and Pistol Matches, presented by Remington, competitors have a couple days to grab their buddies and shoot some team matches.

Yesterday's two-person matches, Whistler Boy and the Remington/NRA 2nd Amendment Match, saw a number of both civilian and military shooters line up on Rodriguez range. The 2013 High Power National Champion, SSGT Brandon Keith Green of the United States Army Marksmanship Unit, looked ready to pick up where he left off last year, winning the 2nd Amendment Match with USAMU teammate SSGT Shane Barnhart and a combined score of 982-41x out of 1000.

In the Whistler Boy Match, open only to junior shooters, team California Hodgson's Forrest Greenwood and Lane Ichord took first after shooting the match-high of 952-28x.

Today's matches increased to four-person teams and, with even more competitors present, moved to Camp Perry's Viale Range. Shot simultaneously, the teams fell into eligibility for one of the three matches, Enlisted Men's, Rumbold, or RNDC.

Following the Enlisted Men's Trophy Team Match, shot between service teams, SSG Green was again part of the top group. Joined by fellow USAMU members SSG Joseph Hall, SPC Lee Bahten, and SGT Augustus Dunfey, captained by PFC Trent Thomas and coached by SFC Emil Praslick himself, USAMU Praslick took first with a combined 1977-83x out of a possible 2000.

The Rumbold Trophy Team Match, comprised of civilian teams with a state affiliation (teams are allowed one member from an adjacent state), saw Team Sierra top the leaderboard after the combined efforts of Shawn McKenna, Stephen Culpepper, Ronald Zerr, and shooter and coach Norman Houle brought a 1959-81x.

Camp Perry's final high power team match is the Rochester National Defense Contingent (RNDC) Trophy Team Match. Open to all teams ineligible to shoot in the other matches, Keystone Accuracy stood above the rest with a 1964-73x thanks to Hugo and Frank Adelson, John Sylvester, and shooter and Captain John Scandale.

Congratulations to all of this year's winning teams. Starting tomorrow everyone is on their own in the battle for the 2014 National High Power Championship.


Comments are closed

Powered by BlogEngine.NET Theme by Cylosoft © Copyright 2015 The National Rifle Association of America