By Kyle Jillson | March 13 2014 15:40

2014 NRA Intercollegiate Pistol Championships descend on Fort Benning, Georgia

Midshipman Czerda Frank of the United States Naval Academy at the 2014 NRA Intercollegiate Pistol Championships

Columbus, Georgia - For the past three days the top collegiate pistol shooters have been facing off for the 2014 NRA Intercollegiate Pistol Championships titles here in sunny - but unseasonably cold - Fort Benning, Georgia.

The more than one hundred shooters, representing 16 schools, joined hundreds of other collegiate shooters in the 3rd Annual Army Strong Collegiate Shooting Championships. Hosted by the United States Marksmanship Unit at their Pool International Range Complex, the event is the largest multi-discipline, shoulder to shoulder, collegiate shooting sports event in the United States.

It was a busy three days for this year's competitors as they shot both as individuals and as teams for titles in Free Pistol, Standard Pistol, Open Air Pistol, Women's Air Pistol and Women's Sport Pistol.

Yale Pistol Team at the 2014 NRA Intercollegiate Pistol Championships

West Point, who just walked away with the 2012 overall team championship, had their work cut out for themselves. Besides their always-intense rivalry with the U.S. Naval Academy, a number of schools were gunning for this year's title after losing out to the Black Knights the previous year.

In the individual field both of last year's men's and women's champions had graduated, leaving the podium wide open.

No doubt each shooter worked hard to get here. Although the championships could be much larger - more than 200 colleges and universities offer NRA-affiliated rifle and pistol programs - invitations were only extended to the shooters and teams who scored highest in seperate pistol sectional matches shot earlier in the year.

So did West Point hold out for back-to-back championships? Who are the new men's and women's individual champs? We'll find out when the winners are crowned at this evening's awards ceremony.


Comments are closed

Powered by BlogEngine.NET Theme by Cylosoft © Copyright 2015 The National Rifle Association of America