By Lars Dalseide | October 17 2013 11:32

Rifle Championships moving to Indiana's Chief Wa-Ke-De Range

Smallbore Rifle shooter looks out onto the range at Camp Perry, Ohio

NRA National Rifle Manager Howard "H.Q." Moody sent over the following update for next year's National Smallbore Championships ...

Fairfax, Virginia - For only the third time in more than 100 years, the NRA National Smallbore Rifle Championships will not be take place at Camp Perry, OH. Instead, the Championships are moving to the Chief Wa-Ke-De Range in Bristol, IN. Nestled amongst a large grove of trees, the Chief Wa-Ke-De Range features a 100 point asphalt covered firing line and plenty of protection from the wind. Located about three hours west of Camp Perry, the range is ideal for smallbore.

Another first is the combination of the National Metric and Conventional Smallbore Rifle Championships. Both events feature a 3-Position Championship and a Prone Championship. Starting on July 14 and ending July 25, the twelve day competition will feature International Postal Team matches as well.

There are a few twists thrown into this year’s championships. Previously, team matches were shot after the individual events. This year, team matches will be “paper matches” with the scores coming from the individual events. Additionally, an overall team champion will be presented in each of the four championships. Finally, International Postal Team events like the Drew Cup and Randle Cup will be shot after the Conventional Championships. Registration opens on April 1, 2014.

The Smallbore Rifle Championship Tournament Program will be posted on March 3rd. There will be no special squadding. Entries are limited to 200 competitors for the Metric Position and Prone Championships and 300 competitors for the Conventional 3-Position and Conventional Prone Championships.

Special events are being planned for each Championship. There will be a barbeque dinner following the Metric Awards and an Amish dinner at the Das Dutchman Essenhaus Convention Center after the Conventional Awards. All ceremonies and events are open to competitors, coaches, families, and representatives of the local communities.

Keep checking our Competitive Shooting website as more information become available.

Ginny Thrasher of Virginia shoots with her team, the Acorns, at the 2013 Camp Perry NRA Championships


Comments are closed

Powered by BlogEngine.NET Theme by Cylosoft © Copyright 2015 The National Rifle Association of America