By Kyle Jillson | July 5 2013 10:50

NRA Foundation grants $15,000 in college scholarships to top preforming Youth Education Summit participants

2013 NRA Youth Education Summit participant Ryan Kelly Murphy of Temecula, California receives a $3,000 college scholarship

Fairfax, Virginia - The NRA National Youth Education Summit (Y.E.S.) may be a weeklong educational trip to Washington D.C. that its attendees will never forget, but it is also a valuable opportunity to receive college scholarships. In addition to visiting the museums and memorials of our nation's capital while learning the role of the federal government and the importance of being an active citizen, students participate in speeches and debates on important contemporary topics.

Their performances are evaluated by NRA staff and, combined with the student's conduct throughout the week, determine the year's college scholarship winners. Scholarships are awarded at the week's end during Y.E.S.'s award ceremony and can be between $1,000 and $3,000 depending on how exceptional the student performed. To date, more than $385,000 in college scholarships have been awarded. And all told, more than 675 students have graduated from the program since its inception in 1996.

Without further ado, this year's college scholarship winners are:

  • $3,000 Grayson Logue, Raleigh, North Carolina
  • $3,000 Ryan Kelly Murphy, Temecula, California
  • $2,000 Lauren Edmonson, Ogden, Utah
  • $2,000 Christian Miller, Loveland, Ohio
  • $2,000 Robert Stewart, Tigard, Oregon
  • $1,000 Sean Coffindaffer, Oxford, Connecticut
  • $1,000 Kyle Kimmi, Lancaster, Kansas
  • $1,000 Jewel Meyer-Hagen, Albuquerque, New Mexico

A second round of scholarships, the Y.E.S. Grand Scholarship, coincidentally valued at $15,000, is also available to this year's participants. To be considered for those scholarships, Y.E.S. alum will have nine months to create a portfolio detailing their efforts to introduce NRA programs like Women On Target, Friends of NRA and the Eddie Eagle GunSafe® Program into their communities.


Comments are closed

Powered by BlogEngine.NET Theme by Cylosoft © Copyright 2015 The National Rifle Association of America