By Kyle Jillson | June 25 2013 08:47

NRA's seven-day competitive scholarship program for high school students kicks off

Who will experience the 2013 NRA Youth Education Summit?

Fairfax, Virginia - The 2013 NRA Youth Education Summit is finally here. This week, forty-seven high school students from around the United States are here in Washington, DC for a seven-day, competitive college scholarship program they won't soon forget.

Throughout the course of the summit, the attendees will tour memorials and monuments surrounding the nation’s capital as they learn the significance of the American Constitution, the Bill of Rights and the importance of being an active citizen. After trickling in flight-by-flight yesterday and playing the requisite icebreaker games, the summit's first full day finds everyone at NRA Headquarters here in Fairfax, Virginia.

During the week, the students will have several debate and speaking events where, depending on how well they do, they will be awarded up to $15,000 in college scholarships at the closing ceremony. Once the summit ends, an additional $15,000 in scholarships is offered through the Y.E.S. Grand Scholarship for attendees who create a portfolio detailing the promotion of NRA programs, such as Eddie Eagle GunSafe® or Refuse To Be A Victim, in their community.

Like past Y.E.S.'s, this year's class was selected from hundreds of qualified applicants clamoring to get in. And applying was no easy task. Each prospective attendee completed an extensive application process comprised of essays about the Second Amendment, school transcripts and personal recommendations.

Y.E.S. has been running every year since it started in 1996. Its goal of encouraging America's youth to become active and knowledgeable citizens at the national and local levels has succeeded time and time again. None of this could be done, however, without funding from The NRA Foundation through monies raised at Friends of NRA banquets.

And now, behold your 2013 Y.E.S. class:

  • Lisa Maggi - Northport, Alabama
  • Grant Goff - Hot Springs, Arkansas
  • Katelyn Scott - Sierra Vista, Arizona
  • Julia Clark - Carmel, California
  • Ryan Kelly Murphy - Temecula, California
  • Nathaniel Van Evera - Aurora, Colorado
  • Sean Coffindaffer - Oxford, Connecticut
  • Charles Welch - Dover, Delaware
  • Melissa Brizzi - Largo, Florida
  • Amber Call - Boise, Idaho
  • Jacquelyn Newberry - Seneca, Illinois
  • John Fair - O'Fallon, Illinois
  • Dianna Rulon - Arcadia, Indiana
  • Kyle Kimmi - Lancaster, Kansas
  • Seth Evans - Heidrick, Kentucky
  • Emily Fulton - Grand Cane, Louisiana
  • Zachary Tan - Finksburg, Maryland
  • Jason Spaude - Saginaw, Michigan
  • Jacqueline Callens - Marshall, Minnesota
  • Valerie Schlotzhauer - New Franklin, Missouri
  • Matthew Bridges - Anguilla, Mississippi
  • Abram French - Paradise, Montana
  • Grayson Logue - Raleigh, North Carolina
  • Ryan Head - Omaha, Nebraska
  • Jewel Meyer-Hagen - Albuquerque, New Mexico
  • Salvatore Triano - Patterson, New York
  • Christian Miller - Loveland, Ohio
  • Jay Gilbertson - McAlester, Oklahoma
  • Mikayla Lewis - Bend, Oregon
  • Robert Stewart - Tigard, Oregon
  • Jacob Zieber - West Chester, Pennsylvania
  • Kristen DeVilliers - Dingmans Ferry, Pennsylvania
  • Natalie Hunton - Tega Cay, South Carolina
  • Tyler Heil - Lemmon, South Dakota
  • Benjamin Mahaffey - Smithville, Tennessee
  • Hunter Spaeth - Lubbock, Texas
  • Colton Voorhis - Georgetown, Texas
  • Rachel Garner - Celina, Texas
  • Blake Novacek - Joshua, Texas
  • Eric Babb - Highland, Utah
  • Lauren Edmonson - Ogden, Utah
  • Matthew Jones - Jarratt, Virginia
  • McKenna Dahl - Arlington, Washington
  • Alexandria Knight - Burlington, Wisconsin
  • Anna Sommers - Burlington, Wisconsin
  • Jacob Hanni - Elkview, West Virginia
  • Alyssa Barnsdale - Lusk, Wyoming


Comments are closed

Powered by BlogEngine.NET Theme by Cylosoft © Copyright 2015 The National Rifle Association of America