By Kyle Jillson | March 2 2013 09:40

FNH USA brings $15,000 in prizes to the Bianchi Cup falling plate event

Larry Houck of Team FNH USA shoots the MidwayUSA & NRA Bianchi Cup's Falling Plate Event

Columbia, Missouri - Competitors will battle it out on four separate stages at this year's 35th Annual MidwayUSA & NRA Bianchi Cup. One of those stages, the Falling Plate Event, is made possible thanks to firearm manufacturer FNH USA.

A subsidiary of the Belgium based FN Herstal, FNH USA has pledged $15,000 in prizes for this year's championship and is the official sponsor of the Olin C. Barjenbruch Falling Plate Event.

The event is named after longtime volunteer Olin "Olie" Barjenbruch who passed away following the 2011 tournament. Designed to test both speed and accuracy, the course of fire requires shooters to shoot at six eight-inch round steel plates at distances of ten, fifteen, twenty and twenty-five yards in six, seven, eight and nine seconds respectively. After two rounds, the fastest one to 48 wins.

“FNH USA is proud to sponsor the premier handgun event of the year,” FNH USA Senior VP of Operations Ken Pfau told us. "The Bianchi Cup attracts the best shooters in the world and they continually push the limits of product capabilities and design."

Pfau will experience the intensity of the Bianchi Cup firsthand when he competes in the tournament this May.

The Championship was founded by former police officer and world renowned holster maker John Bianchi in 1979. Over the past 34 years, it has grown to become the richest and most prestigious pistol championship in the world. If you're a competitive pistol shooter with something to prove, you need to be at the Bianchi Cup. Even though the tournament fields the top pistol shooters in the world, casual and inexperienced shooters can still have fun and win awards too.

Check out the sport of NRA Action Pistol at or contact Tom Hughes at to learn more. Want to be a future NRA Competitive Shooting sponsor? Visit or contact Woody Arenas at

Comments are closed

Powered by BlogEngine.NET Theme by Cylosoft © Copyright 2015 The National Rifle Association of America