By Kyle Jillson | December 30 2012 09:45

Michigan State Spartans take first win in NRA Rifle Club with authority

2012 NRA Championships

Each March, as much of the country is gathered around televisions watching the NCAA Men's Basketball Tournament, I'm out covering some NRA-brand March Madness for the blog. Four years ago we started the NRA Intercollegiate Rifle Club Championships to go alongside the NRA Intercollegiate Pistol Championships and they've created quite a bit of action.

Amos Peck receives his High Individual Aggregate award from NRA Board Member Walt Walter title=Amos Peck receives his High Individual Aggregate award from NRA Board Member Walt Walter

This past spring the Michigan State Spartans had such an impressive showing at the Rifle Club Championships that they won each of the team and individual titles. It was the Spartans' first win in each category and came with the help of another set of talented brothers, Clayton and Amos Peck.

Clayton, who had won the individual aggregate in 2011, was joined by freshman Amos on the United States Army Marksmanship Unit's hometown range in Fort Benning, Georgia and handily helped lead the team to a first day win. On the second and final day, Amos was looking to sweep the individual titles with a win in Smallbore and ended up in a duel with crosstown rival Anne Sullivan from the University of Michigan.

A first rate rifle shooter herself, the Wolverine battled back and forth with Peck throughout the match and, with one shot to go, Sullivan sat within sight of the smallbore crown and playing the role of spoiler. But Peck would not let go and hung on to edge Anne by one point with a 559 of 600.

Next year Michigan State will act as defending champions as the other competitors look to unseat them and claim titles of their own. Who will come out on top? NRAblog will be there to break the news.

Take a full look at Michigan State's win at the NRA Intercollegiate Rifle Club Championships.

Comments are closed

Powered by BlogEngine.NET Theme by Cylosoft © Copyright 2015 The National Rifle Association of America