By Lars Dalseide | November 18 2012 12:07

Raising money for veterans with Patriot's Path

Shotgun Team NRA 1 at the 2009 Patriot's Path fundraiser in Centreville, Virginia

Three years ago this week, staff from NRA Headquarters decided to help out a charity called Patriot's Path. Dedicated to helping veterans make the transition from military to civilian life, Patriot's Path was holding a charity shotgun tournament at the Izaak Walton League range in Centreville, Virginia. Here's another look at that story:

Special thanks to the NRA's Education and Training division for the following write-up:

Centreville, Virginia - On Saturday, November 7, NRA Staff members joined other shooters for the inaugural “Pull for Our Heroes” Trap Tournament. The event was hosted by the Arlington/Fairfax Chapter, Inc. of the Izaak Walton League in Centreville, VA, and presented by Starkey Laboratories, Inc. Staff from NRA Headquarters got together to form two shooting teams.

NRA 1 consisted of Mike Krei, Director of Competitions; Bill Poole, Director of Education and Training; Samantha Olsen, Education and Training; Don “The Silver Fox” Sipes, National Coach Trainer (Shotgun); and Kristin Stoner, Office of Advancement. Team 2 consisted of: Barry Ranney, Gary Dent and Don Zimmer, Information Services, and Beth Epley, Manager of Competitive Shooting, and her husband, Sean Epley.

The tournament was a 100-target event. Should all go well, there would be fifty shots fired before lunch and fifty handicap targets to go after once the Izaak Walton League provided feast was served. NRA Teams 1 and 2 took came in second and third respectively. But the accomplishments didn't stop there.

Don Sipes and Samantha Olsen performed well. They shot so well, in fact, that they ended up in first place in their respective classification. Awards were presented to the classification winners in singles, as well as high overall men’s, women’s and overall handicap and “Top Gun.”

Read the rest of NRA's work with Patriot's Path here.

Comments are closed

Powered by BlogEngine.NET Theme by Cylosoft © Copyright 2015 The National Rifle Association of America