By Kyle Jillson | August 31 2012 13:36

A junior competitor takes aim during the NRA Smallbore Rifle Any Sight Prone Championship at Camp Perry, Ohio

Camp Perry, Ohio - July's Smallbore Prone Rifle Championship was not an individual event. Rather, it was an aggregate of two smaller championships, the Metallic Sight Championship and the Any Sight Championship. Once combined, the overall Smallbore Prone Champion is determined and can be crowned.

After the two-day Metallic Sight Championship and a break for team matches, competitors went back to the line for the Prone Championship's conclusion with the Any Sight Championship.

Competitors change targets during the NRA Smallbore Rifle Any Sight Prone Championship at Camp Perry, Ohio

Like Metallic Sight, Any Sight is named for the type of sights allowed on your rifle. But unlike Metallic Sight, which only allows a specific fixture, anything goes in Any Sight. Want to continue using your metallic sights for the next two days? Go ahead. Been waiting to attach your 40x magnification Leupold scope? Be our guest.

The United States Army Marksmanship Unit's SGT Joseph Hein came out on top from the Any Sight Championship, taking the title with a perfect 2400-204x. The soldier narrowly beat out Reya Kempley and her also-perfect 2400-199x. A week earlier another Kempley reached the highest position at Camp Perry when Reya's brother Tarl won the Smallbore Position Championship.

This year's eventual Smallbore Prone Champion, CPT Christopher Abalo of the USAMU, came in third after dropping point and shooting a 2399-193x. In this case, a perfect score for CPT Abalo would not change his standing as both Kempley and SGT Hein had racked up more Xs.

Like in the Metallic Sight Championship, Reya's score secured the High Woman award and with it the overall High Woman title. Joining her with special awards were Charles Kemp who took the High Senior award with a 2396-174x and Steven Kern who won High Intermediate with a 2397-193x.


Comments are closed

Powered by BlogEngine.NET Theme by Cylosoft © Copyright 2015 The National Rifle Association of America