By Lars Dalseide | August 29 2012 10:41

1st NRA Law Enforcement trophy heads to New Mexico for Championships

NRA's first National Police Shooting Championship trophy

Fairfax, Virginia - The first National Police Shooting Championship was held in 1962. Held on the campus of Indiana University, the first overall champ was Mr. Larry Meade. We've told you that before. But we haven't told you about the first trophy ... one for the team match.

A brilliant silver cup, this trophy usually resides within the walls of NRA's Law Enforcement Division. Once a year, it's cleaned, packed and shipped to National Championships. For the past few years that means a voyage Albuquerque, New Mexico with the rest of the Law Enforcement trophies.

Packing the truck for NRA's  National Police Shooting Championship

That trophy, along with a truckload of other National Police Shooting Championship material (as documented in the above picture), left Fairfax for Albuquerque yesterday. The rest of us will follow in a few weeks.

This year, on the 50th Anniversary of the competition, we take a look back at places and people who made it all possible.

Comments are closed

Powered by BlogEngine.NET Theme by Cylosoft © Copyright 2015 The National Rifle Association of America