By Kyle Jillson | August 10 2012 15:50

Bending, but not breaking, to win 2012 High Power Championship

Carl Bernosky wins 10th NRA High Power Rifle title at Camp Perry

Port Clinton, Ohio - As shooters got down in the prone position for this afternoon's Crowell Trophy match, the NRA National High Power Rifle Championship was Carl Bernosky's to lose. Up two points on the US Army's Sergeant Sherri Gallagher, Bernosky would have a small cushion as competitors dealt with the wind gusting between them and their targets 600 yards away.

Gallagher's score in the Crowell Trophy match would need to hold three points over Bernosky's for an upset. In the event she only made up two, the tie would go to X's and Bernosky had eleven on her. A Bernosky meltdown and a near-perfect round from Gallagher would be needed for her to win on X's. It wasn't impossible, but it was unlikely given the windy weather.

Doing her part, Gallagher shot a 200-12x - a higher point score impossible. Would Bernosky shoot a sub-197, or would he stay within his cushion to win?

Dropping only a single point, Bernosky clenched his tenth overall NRA High Power Rifle Championship with a 199-13x - his final aggregate a 2391-141x to Gallagher's 2390-131x.

Bernosky and Gallagher congratulate each other on a great championship upon completing the Crowell Trophy Match

But neither of these shooters even placed in the Crowell Trophy match. Famed shooters David Tubb and Ronald Zerr are currently tied for first with a 200-14x each and Joseph Hendricks rounds out the top three with his 200-13x.

Crowell Cup — Match 452
Place Competitor Score
1       David Tubb 200-14x
2       Ronald Zerr 200-14x
3       Joseph Hendricks 200-13x
4       Brandon Keith Green 200-12x
4       Sherri Gallagher 200-12x

Staff Sergeant Tyrell Cooper handily won this year's Service Rifle Championship with his Crowell Trophy match's 194-8x bringing his final aggregate to 2377-105x - good enough for eighth overall.

Tonight's awards ceremony begins at 2000 hours in the Hough Theater and NRAblog will be there to get plenty of photos and congratulate this year's champions.

High Power Rifle Championship — Match 400
Place Competitor Score
1       Carl Bernosky 2391-141x
2       Sherri Gallagher 2390-131x
3       Brandon Keith Green 2388-135x
4       David Tubb 2387-145x
5       Joseph Hendricks 2382-111x

Until then, enjoy some moments from the championship's last match for the Crowell Trophy:

Comments are closed

Powered by BlogEngine.NET Theme by Cylosoft © Copyright 2015 The National Rifle Association of America