By Kyle Jillson | August 10 2012 07:25

2010 and 2011 champs head into last day with five X differential

A member of the California Grizzlies shooting team in the 2012 Air Force Cup at the NRA High Power Rifle Championships at Camp Perry

Port Clinton, Ohio - Day Three of the NRA National High Power Rifle Championships finished up with its usual 600-yard slow fire prone match, in this case the Air Force Cup. Sergeant Sherri Gallagher, NRA's 2010 High Power winner, shot extremely well and won the match with a 200-17x. Her Air Force Cup score falls short of the National Championship Record by just one X. A record that was set by her mother, Nancy Tompkins-Gallagher in 1994.

Gallagher's showing in the Air Force Cup also helped close the gap between her and leader Carl Bernosky for the 2012 High Power title. Bernosky, who started the day seven X's ahead of Gallagher, pushed the lead to eight in the Marine Corps Cup after the two shot matching 200-12x scores in the morning's Appreciation Cup. After a 200-14x Air Force Cup, Bernosky now holds the overall championship lead by five X's - a 1795-106x to Gallagher's 1795-101x.

A competitor in the 2012 Air Force Cup at the NRA High Power Rifle Championships at Camp Perry

The two shooters are slowly pulling away from the rest of the pack, although it isn't a sure bet either will win. Staff Sergeant Brandon Keith Green sits at 1792-104x, slightly ahead of Rodrigo Rosa's 1792-101x. There's plenty of time for scores to fluctuate in the last day, but these two past champions appear to have their accuracy locked in.

The high Service Rifle shooter is still Staff Sergeant Tyrel Cooper and his 1787-71x.

High Power Rifle Championship — Match 400
Place Competitor Score
1       Carl Bernosky 1795-106x
2       Sherri Gallagher 1795-101x
3       Brandon Keith Green 1792-104x
4       Rodrigo Rosa 1792-101x
5       David Tubb 1790-107x

Let's look at the last day's shooting schedule:

  • Crescent Cup
    • Slow fire match shot standing at 200 yards.
      • 2011 Winner: Bernosky with a 200-15x to tie the National Record. 

  • Cavalry Cup
    • Rapid fire match shot from the prone position at 300 yards.
      • 2011 Winner: Gallagher with a 200-17x.

  • Crowell Trophy
    • Slow fire match shot prone at 600 yards.
      • 2011 Winner: Bernosky with a 200-17x

Weather still predicts scattered Thunderstorms, although after Thursday's morning rain and some light showers in the afternoon the rest of the day was fine. We'll see how bad the conditions get today.

The 2012 champion will be crowned at tonight's awards ceremony. Who's it gonna be?


Comments are closed

Powered by BlogEngine.NET Theme by Cylosoft © Copyright 2015 The National Rifle Association of America