By Kyle Jillson | June 15 2012 13:38
The Cary Mark Browning Trophy

Only a couple days remain in the challenge period for the 2012 NRA National Junior Indoor Rifle Championships. After this weekend scores become final.

While we wait, let's take a look at another trophy from the championships - the Cary Mark Browning Trophy.

That's it to the left, on display in the Competitive Shooting Division here at NRA Headquarters (Yes, that is my reflection in the trophy).

The Cary Mark Browning Trophy is one of NRA's "newer" trophies. It was donated to Competitive Shooting in 1983 by Fred F. and Ellen C. Browning in memory of their son, who was an avid shooter.

The trophy was first awarded in 1985 to the National Junior Air Rifle Sectional Champion after 40 shots standing at 50 feet, under NRA International Rifle Rules.

It has been presented to the top junior shooter ever since, with the match conditions only changing in 1989 from the AR-1 target from the AR-5.

Last year's winner of the Cary Mark Browning Trophy was Camille Lathbury, who shot a 393. The highest winning score recorded for the trophy was a 397 by Lisa Kunzelman in 2007.

This year, Sarah Banks of Hueytown, Alabama, is poised to win the trophy after squeezing out a 391 to beat Garrett Spurgeon's 390 and Alyssa Gestl's 389.

Think you can beat that score? Will you be under 21 next year? Find out more about the NRA National Junior Indoor Rifle Championships on their website.

Comments are closed

Powered by BlogEngine.NET Theme by Cylosoft © Copyright 2015 The National Rifle Association of America