By Kyle Jillson | March 14 2012 13:42
2012 Free Pistol individual finals

Columbus, Georgia – On a foggy morning here at the United States Army Marksmanship Unit's complex on Fort Benning Army Base, shooters took the line to start this year's NRA Intercollegiate Pistol Championships with the Free Pistol.

The Ohio State Pistol Club, last year's team champion, came into the day hoping to repeat their 2011 performance. But the United States Naval Academy Pistol Team amassed a 13 point lead to take the title with a score of 2,011.

The 2011 individual champion, Nick Mowrer of Pike's Peak Community College, thoroughly out shot the competition in the opening rounds. Well on his way to another Free Pistol title, Mowrer's discipline and steady aim allowed him shoot an aggregate score of 553. He was heading into the finals with an almost insurmountable lead of 26 points.

Mowrer built an early lead over the seven other shooters in the Championship round. The remaining shooters jockeyed for silveras a determined Stephen Halsmer of West Point defended his position at second.

Mowrer's final score of 651.6 was 36.9 points ahead of his nearest competitor making Mowrer the 2012 NRA Intercollegiate Free Pistol Champion.

Scores below:

2012 Free Pistol Team Championship
  Team Score
1 USNA 2011
2 Ohio 1998
3 USMA 1979
USCGA 1968
5 TAMU 1967
6 Citadel 1887
7 UVA 1876
8 UTAH 1855
9 MIT 1850

2012 Free Pistol Individual Championship
  Shooter Team Finals Total
1 Nick Mowrer Pike's Peak 98.6 651.6
2 Stephen Halsmer USMA 91.7 614.7
3 Timothy Steinberg USNA 85.6 612.6
Michael Nugent USNA 89.0 602.0
5 Benjamin Poth USMA 88.7 598.7
6 Kent Hunt USCGA 85.0 598.0
7 Joseph Savo USNA 87.9 594.9
8 Aaron Tourigny Ohio 80.6 587.6


Comments are closed

Powered by BlogEngine.NET Theme by Cylosoft © Copyright 2015 The National Rifle Association of America