By Kyle Jillson | March 11 2012 08:30

Mountaineer Petra Zublasing is the 2012 NCAA air rifle champion

2012 NCAA Air Rifle Champion Petra Zublasing of the West Virginia Mountaineers

Columbus, Ohio - Ohio State's French Field House was the scene of the air rifle championships yesterday; the final day of the NCAA Rifle Championships. With a large crowd gathered in the bleachers, the top air rifle shooters in the NCAA battled it out over 60 shots for a chance at the individual title in the finals.

Sarah Scherer, fresh off her Friday triumph as the 2012 Individual Smallbore Champion, again found herself tied going into the finals. This time at 593 with Petra Zublasing of the West Virginia Mountaineers.

The other six shooters vying for a championship with Scherer and Zublasing were Abigail Stanec, Taylor Ciotola, Mats Eriksson, Kelly Buck, Monica Fyfe and Alix Moncada.

As the eight finalists began taking their 10 timed shots, Zublasing grabbed the lead right off the bat and never looked back. Growing the gap between herself and the other seven competitors with each incredibly precise shot, Zublasing finished with a 696.2, 2.7 points ahead of Ole Miss' Abigail Stanec who came in second.

Air rifle photos and scores below.

2012 NCAA Rifle Championships - Air Rifle Final
1 Petra Zublasing 696.2
2 Abigail Stanec 693.5
3 Sarah Scherer 693.3
Kelly Buck 691.7
5 Alix Moncada 690.7
6 Taylor Ciotola 690.4
7 Monica Fyfe 689.2
8 Mats Eriksson 688.8

Comments are closed

Powered by BlogEngine.NET Theme by Cylosoft © Copyright 2015 The National Rifle Association of America