By Kyle Jillson | February 16 2012 10:36
The Alamo Trophy

The 2012 NRA National Indoor Rifle & Pistol Championships are currently underway and NRAblog will be highlighting a couple of the trophies awarded at the end, starting with a twofer: the Alamo Trophies.

The Alamo Trophy is more than just a bronze plaque, it is a symbol of the significant contributions made to the nation's history and development by the rifle and superb marksmanship of frontiersmen like Davy Crockett and his fellow defenders in the famous battle from which the trophy got its name.

The trophy was first offered by the NRA in 1942 and is the annual award for the High Scoring Team in 4-Position (prone, standing, sitting, kneeling) at the Sectional-National Junior Smallbore Rifle Championships. The match's course of fire is ten shots in each position, per shooter, at 50 feet on the A-17 target with metallic sights.

Last year's winners of this Alamo Trophy were Alexandria JRC Gold with a score of 1573.

In 1981, a second Alamo Trophy was placed in competition for the 3-Position (prone, standing, kneeling) Sectional-National Junior Smallbore Rifle Championships. This second trophy's course of fire is 20 shots from each position, per shooter, at 50 feet on the NRA/USAS-50 target with metallic sights.

Arlington Optimist Acorns Gold won this trophy in last year's championships with a final aggregate of 2247.

The 2012 Open Sectional Tournaments are being fired from January 1 - April 15, 2012 and will likely see thousands of individual shooters fire a couple hundred sectionals in hopes of becoming the 2012 champions. 

If you interested in getting in on the action, get in touch with Dian Bullock at (703) 267-1482 or

Comments are closed

Powered by BlogEngine.NET Theme by Cylosoft © Copyright 2015 The National Rifle Association of America