By Lars Dalseide | August 30 2011 10:40

2011 Sierra Trophy winner James Young on NRAblogPort Clinton, Ohio - The NRA first starting awarding the Sierra Trophy during the Long Range High Power Rifle Championships at Camp Perry back in 1999. Made from granite, with a wooden base, the trophy bears the logo of ammunition manufacturer Sierra - The Bulletsmiths. Every year since 1999, the Sierra Trophy goes to the marksman who shoots the highest aggregate score for the Herb "Doc" Aiken Memorial match and the Edward D. Andrus Memorial match. And just to make it interesting, they must be shot with a Palma rifle.

This year's winner, shown to the right receiving the award from NRA First Vice President James Porter, was James Young of Lugoff, South Carolina. With a score of 398-20X, Young edged out Dave Crandall of Idaho by a single shot. Not a small feat with those Palma rifles!

We'll have more recaps and reviews from the 2011 National Rifle and Pistol Championships at Camp Perry throughout the year.

Comments are closed

Powered by BlogEngine.NET Theme by Cylosoft © Copyright 2015 The National Rifle Association of America