By Lars Dalseide | April 15 2011 10:40

The 45th Annual Daisy National BB Gun Championship Match takes place over the 4th of July weekend in Rogers, Arkansas. With hundreds of teams from the Boy Scouts of America, 4-H, Royal Rangers, the National Guard Youth Marksmanship Program and more vying for a shot at the title, NRAblog heard about a team from Gillespie County's 4-H program that will be in Arkansas come July.

How did we hear about this great accomplishment? That's all thanks to the efforts of Stephanie Behrends from Fredericksburg, Texas. She sent us an email with the following update on the 2011 Texas State BB Gun Championships held at the Gillespie County Fair Grounds Show Barn:

Our local Gillespie County Texas Youth 4H BB gun team finished first at the TSRA State BB Gun competition. They not only won 1st place, but they are bound for the Daisy National BB Gun competition in Rogers, Arkansas. We are so very proud of them.

My son, Hunter Behrends, received Top Gun in the Gillespie County competition, and 2nd place in the State competition Top Gun. In all he won 9 medals (3-Gold, 5-Silver, 1-Bronze.) This will be Hunter's second trip to the National competition. He is an NRA Junior Member and working towards earning the NRA Youth Achievement Award.

Hunter is also participating in the Congressional Medal Awards, has earned all 3 levels of Certificates and recently applied for the Bronze Award. This is a multi-step 2 year process with Bronze-Silver-Gold Certificates and then Bronze-Silver-Gold Medals.

The Gillespie team garnered a total score of 2,276.47 points with Hunter Behrends (469.12), Michaela Priess (467.12 ... good enough for third overall in the competition!), Sarah Schmidt (452.08), Daylon Nebgen (446.09), Brant Crenwelge (442.06), Lance Culak (440.09) and Brooke Nevins (429.06) firing on all cylinders.

Congratulations to the Gillespie County 4H BB gun team! For more on NRA's Air Gun program, you can visit their website, call them at (703) 267-1475 or send an email to

Comments are closed

Powered by BlogEngine.NET Theme by Cylosoft © Copyright 2015 The National Rifle Association of America