By Kerrin Brinkman | September 8 2009 08:40

Collin Wietfeldt Here is the first of three profiles on the winners of the 2009 Outstanding Achievement Youth Award. Let's kick things off with our first place winner: 

Eighteen-year-old Collin Wietfeldt of Hemlock, Michigan, took first place in the 2009 Outstanding Achievement Youth Award and will receive $5,000 scholarship. Wietfeldt’s impressive shotgun skills earned him spots on the 2009 U.S. World Championship Shotgun Team, the U.S. National Development Team, and on the 2009 ATA All-American Junior Trapshooting Team.

Wietfeldt recently returned from the Shotgun World Championships, held August 7-16 in Maribor, Slovenia, where he earned a silver medal as a member of the Men’s Junior Trap Team and finished in 7th place as an individual. Earlier this month, Wietfeldt took first place in the Trap Championships at the 2009 Shotgun Junior Olympics in Colorado Springs, Colorado.

In addition to his shooting skills, Wietfeldt is also very active in his school and community. At Hemlock High School, Wietfeldt is a member of the Health Occupation Students of America (HOSA), the CPR Team, and is a regular name on the Honor Roll. Wietfeldt’s community involvement includes being an active member, volunteer, and coach with the Saginaw Field and Stream Club, serving as a coach for the Scholastic Clay Target Program, and as a frequent blood donor, being presented with the Donor For Life Award in 2008. In addition, Wietfeldt has participated in the Michigan State Youth Hunter Education Challenge and NRA Advanced Shotgun Camps.

Just last week, Wietfeldt accepted an offer to become a resident athlete at the U.S. Olympic Training Center in Colorado Springs, Colorado. He has sinced moved to Colorado to begin his training and has enrolled at the University of Colorado. Congratulations, Collin, on all of your recent achievements!

Keep checking back with NRAblog for profiles of more Outstanding Achievement Youth Award winners.

Comments are closed

Powered by BlogEngine.NET Theme by Cylosoft © Copyright 2015 The National Rifle Association of America