By Kerrin Brinkman | September 1 2009 15:05

Three of the NRA's top Junior Members have been selected to receive the 2009 Outstanding Achievement Youth Award, recognizing their accomplishments in the community, the classroom, and the shooting sports. A total of $10,000 in scholarship money is awarded to the winners thanks to the generosity of Brownell’s.

2009 Oustanding Achievement Youth Award Winners:

  • 1st Place: Collin Wietfeldt of Hemlock, Michigan - $5,000
  • 2nd Place: Tanner Brooks of Walkerton, Indiana - $3,000
  • 3rd Place: Samuel Fowler of Orchard Park, New York - $2,000

“Reviewing the applications for the 2009 Outstanding Youth Achievement Award made me very proud of all of the candidates, and speaks to the tremendous effect that the shootings sports and NRA programs has on young people. The shooting sports community gives so freely of their time, money, and most importantly their mentorship; not just to these three winners, but to all youth involved in their programs,” said Larry Quandahl, Manager of NRA’s Youth Programs Department.

Applications for next year’s Outstanding Achievement Youth Award are due to NRA Headquarters no later than May 1, 2010. For more information on the Outstanding Achievement Youth Award, please contact NRA’s Youth Programs Department by calling (703) 267-1505 or visit their website to learn more about the requirements and application process.

Check back with NRAblog for profiles on each of the top three award winners!

Comments are closed

Powered by BlogEngine.NET Theme by Cylosoft © Copyright 2015 The National Rifle Association of America