By Thomas L. Day | May 29 2009 14:22

The National Rifle Association’s office of Women’s Programs is now accepting nomination applications for both the Sybil Ludington and Marion Hammer awards.

The NRA has awarded the Sybil Ludington Women's Freedom Award since 1995. The award is named in honor of a woman, who at the age of sixteen, etched her name as perhaps the American Revolution’s most revered heroine. As British troops approached the town of Danbury, Connecticut, in April of 1777, Ludington’s father, a New York militia colonel, asked his daughter for help. On her father’s orders, Ludington mounted her horse, raced through the town, and rallied the patriots in time to counter the attack.   

The Marion P. Hammer Woman of Distinction Award recognizes exceptional contributions to the preservation of the Second Amendment and the shooting sports through education, advocacy, volunteerism, and legislative activism in support of the goals of the NRA.

Ms. Marion P. Hammer, the first woman president of the National Rifle Association, has influenced many in her fight to preserve Second Amendment freedoms. Ms. Hammer’s activism buoyed the passage of Florida's “right-to-carry” legislation, launched grassroots efforts in educating youth about firearm safety, ownership and responsibility, and created the Eddie Eagle GunSafe® program.

The NRA Women’s Policy Committee meets annually to select women for these two prestigious awards. Criteria for consideration include:

  • NRA membership
  • Outstanding performance in competitive shooting events
  • Dedication to hunting ethics
  • Outstanding educational contributions to the NRA, including public appearances
  • Meritorious, lawful use of a firearm in self-defense or in the defense of others
  • Dedication to the protection of the Second Amendment
  • Outstanding volunteerism for NRA programs

For more information or to nominate a candidate for these prestigious awards, call 703-267-1378 or log onto


Comments are closed

Powered by BlogEngine.NET Theme by Cylosoft © Copyright 2015 The National Rifle Association of America