Just across the state line from NRA Headquarters here in Fairfax, Virginia, the air pistol team at Patuxent High School in Maryland is in the news:
4 Patuxent air pistol team members bound for Junior Olympics

The Patuxent High School Navy Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps air pistol team was once considered small but mighty. Now it's just mighty: Four members are heading to the National Junior Olympics in Colorado Springs next month.

There was a time when only about four students showed up for the team's practices, said its coach, retired U.S. Marine Gunnery Sgt. Chris Konicki.

"Lately, I've had about eight, which is a lot," said Konicki, who coaches the team voluntarily and is the parent of three Patuxent High graduates.

The air pistol team is an entity of Patuxent's NJROTC program, which, Konicki said, "is programmed to develop junior leaders in high school" and promotes higher education, community service, service to one's country and pride in the U.S. military. 

Continue reading here.

Results are in for the Men’s 4x7.5 km Relay in Biathlon: a gold medal for Norway, silver for Austria, and bronze for the Russian Federation. Team USA came in 13th place.

We hope you’ve enjoyed our Olympic biathlon coverage this winter. Just 882 days until the opening ceremonies of the 2012 Summer Olympics in London!

The final biathlon event at this year’s Olympic Games, the Men’s 4x7.5 km Relay, is scheduled to start at 11:30 PST at Whistler Olympic Park.

The American relay team consists of Lowell Bailey of Lake Placid, New York; Jay Hakkinen of Kasilof, Alaska; Tim Burke of Paul Smiths, New York; and Jeremy Teela of Anchorage, Alaska.


The team from the Russian Federation won the gold medal in today’s Women’s 4x6km Biathlon Relay; France won the silver medal; and Germany won the bronze medal.

The American biathlon team came in 17th place.

The last Olympic biathlon event – the Men’s 4x7.5 km Relay – will take place on Friday.

The Women’s 4x6 km Relay is scheduled to start at 11:30 PST at Whistler Olympic Park.

On the American biathlon relay team are: Sara Studebaker of Boise, Idaho; Lanny Barnes of Durango, Colorado; Haley Johnson of Lake Placid, New York; and Laura Spector of Lenox, Massachusetts.


Today's Women's competition was even closer than the Men's with Germany taking two out of the top three.

  1. Magdalena Neuner - Germany; 35:19.6
  2. Olga Zaitseva - Russia; 35:25.1
  3. Simone Hauswald - Germany; 35:26.9

The Men’s 15k Mass Start was decided by just ten seconds - here are the results:

  1. Evgeny Ustyugov - Russia; 35:35.7
  2. Martin Fourcade - France; 35:46.2
  3. Pavol Hurajt - Slovakia; 36:01.6

And that's not all for today as the Women’s 12.5k Mass Start begins in less than an hour. Stay tuned!

The Men’s 15 km Mass Start is scheduled for 11:00 PST at Whistler Olympic Park, followed by the Women’s 12.5 km Mass Start at 1:00 PST.

In the mass start event,

the 30 best-ranked competitors start together and must stop four times at the shooting range to take five shots at a target. If an athlete misses a shot, the athlete must ski a lap around a 150-metre penalty loop. If a competitor is lapped during the competition he or she must withdraw immediately.

The first one across the finish line wins.

Only two American biathletes have achieved the ranking necessary to compete in today’s Mass Start: Tim Burke of Paul Smiths, New York; and Jeremy Teela of Anchorage, Alaska.


Emil Egle Svendsen won the gold medal for the Men’s 20km Individual; the silver medal goes to both Sergey Novikov of Belarus and Ole Einar Bjoerndalen of Norway, who both ended up with the same final time.

And here’s the results for the American competitors: Tim Burke came in 45th place, Lowell Bailey in 57th, Jay Hakkinen in 76th, and Wynn Roberts in 86th.

“Sinus problems this morning,” Jeremy Teela posted to Twitter, explaining why he wasn’t competing today. "Sorry folks I'm bummed too but cheer on Wynn Roberts in his first Olympic race.”

The next Olympic Biathlon event is Sunday’s Mass Start.

Keep up to date with NRAblog

Powered by BlogEngine.NET Theme by Cylosoft © Copyright 2014 The National Rifle Association of America